The Mission

lineage barrel b-wThere are always too few harvests.

I could have 50, and they wouldn’t be enough to fully grasp a vineyard site, to be aware of all the vagaries of nature and of fermentations…maybe not even enough to fully understand what vision I am chasing.

2015 marked my 20th harvest and most of these were of true value only in helping me clarify what it is I am supposed to be doing as a winemaker.

It was the process of putting together the first Lineage blend in 2007 that cemented the idea in my mind that the rest of my career should be spent focusing on creating a world-class luxury wine brand with a flagship wine that was the equal of any made, any where.

I’ve come to understand that I have a duty to my growing area, a duty to the amazing people who work with me, a duty to all the wine lovers who already know (and those that will) Steven Kent’s wines, and a duty to my family to bring to fruition something of true beauty, something commensurate to the superlative quality by which I find myself surrounded.

2 thoughts on “The Mission

  1. I greatly enjoy your wine (including Lineage) but I think your legacy will be the “region” part of the equation. The “updraft” effect you’ve had on Livermore wine in not only the quality of the product but in the branding and customer experience has been amazing and there are many of us looking forward to seeing where it goes from here.

    Like

    • Brian:

      Thanks so much for taking the time to respond. I would be a liar if I said that I didn’t care whether my work influenced other people, other winemakers in the Valley. I think it is important to have a mission and a viewpoint, and I will continue to push the idea that Livermore Valley winemakers should not allow anyone to put us into the second class. We need to continue to strive for greatness and bang against the Napa-centric door as we bring our individual wine ethic to all the wine lovers out there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

